Worksession ·

Promiscuous pipelines

Universalism is not rejected but particularized; what is needed is a new kind of articulation between the universal and the particular’ (Chantal Mouffe in: The Return of the political, 1993)

In computation, a ’pipe’ is a method to enable various software modules to connect to each other, where the output of one program is treated as the input for the next program. ’Pipes’ form the basis of The Unix philosophy, a perspective on software production where multiple task-oriented tools can be chained together to make seemingly endless software combinations possible. While interchangeable and flexible, the assumption that each element should be optimised to ’Do One Thing and Do It Well’ leads to a rather predictable and ultimately normative set. If each tool is designed to be used in any context by anyone at any time, what about situated knowledge? How can we imagine modularity, knowing that software processes are inherently leaky and contextual?

This worksession was developed by Femke Snelting in collaboration with FoAM.

Participants: Agustina Andreoletti, An Mertens, Anne Laforet, Bash, bolwerK, Christoph Haag, Eleanor Saitta, Femke Snelting, Foam, Gijs de Heij, Gottfried Haider, Marthe Van Dessel, Martino Morandi, Michael Murtaugh, Nik Gaffney, Øyvind Kolås, Pierre Marchand, Simon Yuill, Sophie Toupin, Wendy Van Wijnsberghe, Zeljko Blace.

Worksession program

Pictures of the worksession: http://gallery3.constantvzw.org/index.php/Promiscuous-Pipelines-Worksession

Experimental publication: https://gitlab.com/fs/pppp


Related events

Promiscuous Pipelines publishing experiment

2016
In computation, a ’pipe’ is a method that enables various software modules to connect to each other, where the output of one program is treated as the input for the next program. At the Promiscuous (...)

Apero Promiscuous Pipelines

2015
At this special edition of the FoAM apéro you can discover some of the processes that we have been running at Promiscuous Pipelines, a worksession trying to re-imagine modularity, knowing that (...)

Worksession: Promiscuous pipelines

’Universalism is not rejected but particularized; what is needed is a new kind of articulation between the universal and the particular’ (Chantal Mouffe in: The Return of the political, 1993) In (...)

Call for participants

2015
Participants in Promiscuous Pipelines can be artists and/or thinkers and/or developers interested in rethinking tool-sets, methods or systems. You are invited to bring existing or imagined (...)

Promiscuous pipelines

L’universalisme n’est pas rejeté mais particularisé, ce qui manque est une nouvelle forme d’articulation entre l’universel et le particulier’ (Chantal Mouffe in : The Return of the political, 1993)

En computation, un ’tuyau’ est une méthode qui permet de connecter de différentes modules de logiciels. La sortie d’un logiciel est considérée comme l’entrée du logiciel suivant. ’Des tuyaux’ constituent la base de la philosophie Unix. Il s’agit d’une perspective sur la production de logiciels : de multiples outils spécifiques peuvent être enchaînés afin de rendre possible des combinaisons de logiciels quasi infinies. Bien que les différents éléments soient interchangeables et flexibles, l’hypothèse qu’ils soient optimalisés pour ’Faire Une Chose et la Faire Bien’, conduit à un ensemble plutôt prévisible et, en fin de compte, normatif. Si chaque outil soit développé pour être utilisé dans tout contexte, par tout le monde et à tout moment, Comment y retrouver alors les connaissances situées ? Comment pouvons-nous imaginer la modularité, tout en étant conscient ;es que les processus de logiciels fuient par nature et sont contextuels par définition ?

Cette session de travail a été développée par Femke Snelting en collaboration avec FoAM.

Participants : Agustina Andreoletti, An Mertens, Anne Laforet, Bash, bolwerK, Christoph Haag, Eleanor Saitta, Femke Snelting, Foam, Gijs de Heij, Gottfried Haider, Marthe Van Dessel, Martino Morandi, Michael Murtaugh, Nik Gaffney, Øyvind Kolås, Pierre Marchand, Simon Yuill, Sophie Toupin, Wendy Van Wijnsberghe, Zeljko Blace.

Programme de la session de travail (en anglais)

Images de la session de travail : http://gallery3.constantvzw.org/index.php/Promiscuous-Pipelines-Worksession

Publication expérimentale : https://gitlab.com/fs/pppp

Articles

Promiscuous Pipelines édition éxperimentale

Dans le monde du logiciel libre, le terme "pipe" est utilisé pour indiquer un procédé dans lequel plusieures modules sont connectées les unes aux autres. Les résultats d’un logiciel sont traités (...)

Apero Promiscuous Pipelines

Une édition spéciale des apéros de FoAM, afin de décourvir les processus qui seront mis en action lors de la session de travail Promiscuous Pipelines qui ressemblera pendant une semaine des artistes (...)

Appel à participation

Les partciipants à la session de travail Promiscuous Pipelines sont artistes et/ou chercheurs et/ou développeurs de logiciels intéressé.es à revoir des ensemlbes d’outils digitaux, des méthodes ou des (...)